Skip to main content

Arrest of the Ukrainian seafarers: trafficking of the illegal immigrants is strictly punishable

Recently the topic of the Ukrainian seafarers’ arrest for trafficking of the illegal immigrants has reached almost the highest point of its resonance in Europe. Huge imprisonment terms for the Ukrainian seafarers are really shocking from the point of view of ordinary, juridically illiterate person. They are deprived of liberty for hundreds years, which merely can’t be comprehended by an ordinary person. But from the juridical point of view, however, these terms are completely reasonable. Let’s consider for example Italy and Greece, which are the epicenter of detentions of the Ukrainian seafarers.

Speaking about Italy, it should be pointed out that in comparison with Greece, it’s legislation in respect to the imprisonment terms is rather loyal.

In Italy the possible imprisonment terms for the seafarers for trafficking of the illegal immigrants, organizing or providing any other assistance in the committing of the offense, constitute from 1-5 years of imprisonment, plus 15000€ fine for each illegal immigrant. But degree of guilt and the terms are defined according to the degree of participation of guilty person/persons. Thus the terms may be floating and not always to be on their tops.

Let’s consider Greece. The situation here is much rougher in comparison to Italy. The point is that the fight with illegal immigrants in Greece is almost national tradition, supported on legislative level. For each illegally trafficked immigrant, a person can be imprisoned for 10 years, hence arise the terms of 500-800 years. But there’s a peculiar thing: the highest and frontier term for such offense is 25 years. And as it rarely happens that only one illegal immigrant is being trafficked, it results in maximum term of 25 years for all the seafarers.

But 10 years for each illegal immigrant is a conditional issue. On practice there were situations when 8 and 6 years were given for each illegal immigrant. But it doesn’t help so much because as a rule, a great number of illegal immigrants are trafficked, so the terms are still 25 years for everybody.

In Greece the real terms are accounted depending on the number of people aboard, their age, presence of children aboard etc. That is, all factors are taken into account.

My personal opinion is  following: the seafarers may not know about supposed trafficking of illegal immigrants, being merely employed or agreeing to take the job being in Ukraine. In fact, if the illegal immigrants are present aboard the vessel or a yacht- it’s impossible not to know about.

And further on you have a choice: whether to agree and commit an offense and in the case of arrest to be imprisoned for 25 years in Greece, or to refuse and to lose both a contract and money for flight.

To justify the trafficking of illegal immigrants without getting real imprisonment term is possible entirely having proved the fact of violence or a threat of violence towards the seafarer. But in reality it’s very hard to prove that everything has been done at gunpoint. And in this case no one can prove it but the seafarer himself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to main content

Арест украинских моряков: перевозка нелегалов — строго наказуема

В последнее время тема ареста украинских моряков за перевозку нелегальных мигрантов в Европе достигла практически пика своей резонансности. Огромные сроки тюремных заключений для украинских моряков с позиции обычного, юридически не подкованного человека — шокируют. Их лишают свободы на сотни лет, что не может вложиться в голове простого человека. Но с юридической точки зрения, как оказывается, эти сроки вполне оправданы. Возьмем, к примеру, Италию и Грецию, где эпицентр задержаний моряков из Украины.

Если взять Италию, то по сравнению с Грецией, там довольно лояльное законодательство по срокам тюремного заключения. Регулируется нормами Уголовного Кодекса (378 статья) и Единым сводом закона об Иммиграции (ст.12) от 1998 года.

В Италии сроки, которые могут получить моряки за перевозку нелегалов, организацию или оказание любой другой помощи в осуществлении преступления составляют от 1 до 5 лет плюс 15 000 евро штрафа за каждого нелегального мигранта. Но степень вины и сроки определяются в зависимости от степени участия виновного (виновных) лиц. То есть, сроки могут «плавать» и не всегда быть на верхних границах.

Что касается Греции. Здесь ситуация куда более жесткая по сравнению с Италией. Все потому, что в Греции борьба с нелегальными мигрантами входит чуть ли не в национальную традицию, поддерживаемую на законодательном уровне. За каждого перевозимого нелегально мигранта могут дать до 10 лет, отсюда и сроки по 500-800 лет. Но есть особенность: предельный и граничный срок по таким преступлениям – 25 лет. А так как редко перевозят всего лишь одного нелегала, то и получается, что все моряки получают максимальные сроки – 25 лет.

Но 10 лет за каждого нелегала – все это условно. На практике бывало, что за каждого нелегала давали 8 и 6 лет. Но это сути не меняет, так как всегда перевозят очень большое количество нелегалов и поэтому сроки все равно будут по 25 лет.

В Греции реальные сроки рассчитываются в зависимости от количества человек на борту, возраста, наличия детей на борту и т.д. То есть берутся во внимания все факторы.

Мое личное мнение такое: моряки могут не знать о том, что будут перевозить нелегальных мигрантов только в момент трудоустройства или соглашаясь на работу, будучи в Украине. По факту же, при наличии нелегальных мигрантов на борту судна или яхты – не знать об этом невозможно.

И дальше стоит выбор: согласиться и совершить преступление и, в случае ареста, получить срок 25 лет в Греции, или — отказаться и потерять «контракт» и деньги за перелет.

Оправдать перевозку нелегальных мигрантов и не получить реальный срок можно исключительно доказав факт применения насилия или угрозы применения насилия в отношении моряка. Но на практике довольно тяжело доказать, что все было сделано под дулом пистолета. И в данном случае бремя доказывания ложится исключительно на моряков.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *